Happy Birthday Girlfriend!!!

You know, I have been realizing recently that I have known my girl Laurel for a long time now. She lived through my heart surgery, the recovery, her leaving for pharmacy school, my hemming and hawing about going back to grad school. She’s lived through countless boyfriends, an ex-husband, and you know what?

Everytime I talk or email her, it’s as if we have just left off. When we see each other, it’s as if things have just been the same since they were in 1998.

Her birthday is today. In the gracefulness of the day, I am hopeful that she went out and got trashed last night, and is either reading this from the luxury of her bedroom, or doesn’t have too much to do today at work. She has given me strength, hope, and calm, for 10 years now. I am forever grateful that she’s in my life, and that she walks the path she does on a daily basis. She has given me credence to know that it’s okay to be the person you are. That even if you try and hide it, you really can’t. She’s the type that will run you into a wall because she knows you can break it down. It’s weird. There’s just no uncertainty from her. That’s just how it goes.

So, I sent her a pie from Dangerously Delicious Pies here in Baltimore. I figured that I might as well do something that’s so authentically Baltimore, and authentically urban, she couldn’t resist it. Then, I go back to check my email and find out that she’s not into the chocolate! I was doomed. I went out and got her something else, and sent it out too. But, she liked the pie!!! Go Dangerously delisch!!!! (Pssst…it was the Mobtown Brown, TRY IT!!! SOOO WORTH IT!) So, two presents in once. 🙂 I can’t be happier.

So, happy birthday Laurel. Thank you for your friendship and for being you. I don’t know what I could do without ya. 🙂 This is for all those birthdays that I was a loser and either forgot or didn’t have money.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Happy Birthday Girlfriend!!!”

  1. charlotte harris Says:

    Sound like your friend has been with you through a lot, you’re lucky to have each other! And wow, I checked out those pies… yummy! One more place to add to my mental list of fun things to check out next time I make it to Balto!

Leave a Reply

