I wasn’t getting much done at work today anyway…

I’m starting to get tired of this. Most of the women that are in my lab are in either long term relationships, or they have mental problems. It’s an odd fit where we land, that’s for sure. One got engaged this weekend, which was a big duh if you ask me, but hey, who’s counting.  The other one that got engaged over the Christmas holiday, interested in a destination wedding.

Don’t get me wrong…I am happy for both of these women. I really am.  But, the reality of the situation is this:

I love my boyfriend.

I’d marry him in a second.

He’s not ready.

This leaves me one of two options.

1.  Leave him because I’ve been waiting around, and am tired of it, which will leave both of us alone, and neither of us happy.

2.  Wait. Be happy.

Guess which one I chose?

Meanwhile, the topic of marriage and children comes up often. Came up at lunch today, as the only married one at the table goes on and on of how happy he is that he’s convinced his wife not to have kids. I don’t get this. Isn’t that the natural progression of things? Isn’t that how it’s supposed to be? It makes no sense to me to go through your entire life, and not even want to think about children. Not even consider it, makes no sense, seems awfully selfish to me.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not ready to have kids. Perhaps the amount of work that I need to do on myself between now and if and when me and the bf ever do get married will have to sacrifice me having my own children, it’s hard to say. I get tired of people talking about it though. The plans, the weddings, the rings. It makes me nuts.  I miss being downtown, I miss my friends, I miss having the common decency to know when someone around you is uncomfortable with what you’re blathering about.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

