A conference, a surgery..quite an experience…

So, I just spent the entire week at the American Academy of Forensic Sciences annual meeting. It was a tough week, I can’t say that I’m not exhausted. The weather today prevented me from really going out today, and the worst part about it is that I probably could have finished the conference this morning, given the opportunity, but I was so tired when I woke up this morning. So, I took the day to relax and recover.

Here’s what I think.

1. I thought for a while that I couldn’t do this. It was the disability, it was the sickness, it was all of that.

Bullshit. That was just an excuse. I met some world renowned scientists this week, and they ALL said that not only am I making a huge impact on the literature, but that I will definitely have a job when I’m out of school. So…I have my lab backing me up, my adviser backing me up, my committee backing me up, and now the community backing me up. I didn’t need a special section to present the LITTLE I had anyway, the jealousy within me for the money that the other lab gets was raising to new heights. I guess it’s easy to be successful when you have all the money in the world to do your experiments and things right at your fingertips.
I feel as if this entire trip either made me stronger…or more scared. I think that I pissed off a couple people, and I think I got a lot of people really excited about a lot of really good science. I met some people that I never anticipated. I met the inventor of Temprence Brennan, the main character of the show Bones. I also met Dr. Lee who testified in a number of cases from Scott Petersen, and O.J. Simpson. On the flip side…

…the hotel sucked. Don’t EVER go to the Marriott Wardman Park Hotel in Washington DC. It’s a HORRIFICALLY non-ADA hotel. *ugh* It was really really really bad. The parking was bad, the way to get up from the metro was bad. It snowed two days in a row, it was just enough to make me crazy.

You know it’s weird though. All I kept thinking about last night in the open forum was to make the most of the time I had there, because I needed to go home, and get healthy. So, the surgery is coming, and needless to say, it doesn’t prevent me from being scared out of my wits, but at least I’m comprehending it enough to know that I’m not a moron, and once I get to feeling better, I really need to get down and get done with this comprehensive exam so that I can get out of school sooner rather than later…

Dr. W….creepy. Real creepy.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “A conference, a surgery..quite an experience…”

  1. pandemonic Says:

    I know you’ll make it after school, and I’ll be proud to say “I knew you when” you were just a student.

    By the way, ALL hotels in the DC area suck. Bad hotels, bad service. I think you’d have been better off in the train station.

Leave a Reply

