A Bit of Growing Up Finally Done…

Yup, that’s right…signed a new lease today. Have to give notice to my landlord (bad words omitted here) and I’m moving sometime at the end of next month. It’s sad and depressing and wildly exciting all rolled into one. I’m sad because I know it means that the bf isn’t on the lease this time. It’s depressing to know that I might be living in this place by myself. It’s exciting because I’m doing this….on my own.

When I first started dating said bf almost 4 years ago (holy god) the nicest part about it was that we really still had our own lives. That we didn’t become a “couple” we were two separate people that really enjoyed each other’s company.

It’s really sad that he’s going to move for work. It’s really going to be hard being here without him. I know it’s weird to say, but I pray that I can handle him being so far away.

I’m a jealous person. I know it. It’s insecurity.

I’m thankful though that I’m still strong enough to do this. To survive.

He’s defending his dissertation today. He’s freaking out more because I’m going to be there with my mom, and his mom trying to sort stuff out. He’s not used to not being in control. Hehehe, he can’t take it. It’s going to be great. I’m very excited…and exhausted!

On a side note: Comprehensive exam date is set for July 14th. Holy crap.

5 Responses to “A Bit of Growing Up Finally Done…”

  1. geekhiker Says:

    Maybe I’ve missed some posts, so I apologize if you’ve already answered: how far away will he be?

  2. cripkitty Says:

    Geekhiker: Looks like Chicago. So, if Google Maps estimates are correct, a little more than 700 miles.

  3. cripkitty Says:

    679 from campus to campus. 🙂

  4. geekhiker Says:

    And you guys are going to make a go of it? Very brave of you! 🙂

  5. cripkitty Says:

    Whether it’s brave or stupid geekhiker, it will be hard to say.

Leave a Reply

