Chicago Won’t Know what Hit Em…

That’s right folks, along with the bf defending his thesis on Friday, we also found out where he’ll likely end up.

The Windy City. Well known for cold, Solider Field, Wrigley Field, and Comiskey Park, he got offered a post-doc position with the physics department at the University of Illinois Chicago. I know that it’s a relief because he won’t be depressed, aggravated, and annoyed that he couldn’t find a job. I know he’ll be busy, I know he’ll miss me. It hurts and it’s fantastic all at once.

I can’t help it, despite how proud and wonderful the situation is.

I’m heartbroken and terrified. I know it’s only 700 miles, but it’s ONLY 700 miles. He’s going to take the place by storm, I just know it. I didn’t know whether to be happy or cry on Friday.

It must be a good sign he wanted our parents to meet right? I think it is.

The weather hasn’t helped things. It really hasn’t. A crappy day for a crappy mood. Happy Monday folks.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Chicago Won’t Know what Hit Em…”

  1. geekhiker Says:

    Aw, man, I don’t know what to say. Sending you all the best vibes I can, though…

  2. Laurie Says:

    I really don’t have an sage advice, but I’m sorry that you’re feeling down. The distance thing CAN be done though! And if he’s in Chicago now and you’re finishing up your school stuff – that gives you some great options for your job hunt!

  3. tigereye Says:

    It’s cold as hell, but it’s a fun, fun place. I used to go there regularly to my migraine clinic, back in the days of health insurance, and it was such an upgrade from my little podunk joint that I kind of wished I had more regular checkups than I did.

    You’ll love it. I almost promise. And if you end up there too, be prepared for me to visit! 🙂

Leave a Reply

