The Holiday Weekend Revisited ~ The Art of the LDR Continued

As my exhaustive weekend in points west finished up, I must admit that certain realizations allowed me to continue on with my thoughts about how long distance relationships need so much work.

I spent the last couple days with the bf’s family. Who I’m rather used to. Although his father and sister have a tendency just not to think…they sometimes say rather mean things. Meanwhile, it wasn’t so bad. I thought it was weird that his sister didn’t stay at home with her parents but I started wondering if it was because of her dog. Their parents aren’t too keen on animals, so they said that they wouldn’t allow her to have the dog at their house.

Go figure hm?

I find myself getting sad and depressing when I came home. It’s depressing to come back to a place where he’s not at. It was hard this weekend, because I felt the need to share him. It’s hard for me being so far away from him to have to share him. We couldn’t be intimate at all, because we felt like we couldn’t avoid his family. His father says the same thing over and over, and it’s hard because they felt like it was really awkward with me there.

I hate that. I tried really hard when this relationship went long distance to not change the relationship. I didn’t change how I felt about him, he didn’t about me, and it was that we talked everyday, and we talked more and more about what we were going to do with our future, and not necessarily about our families.

Speaking of which, I worry that my family didn’t have a great respective thanksgiving. My aunt, one of the most special people in my life has had a bad diagnosis, so I worry how she’s dealing with that. My bil just recently lost his sister in a violent manner, I worry that his family made this holiday less than festive. My sis has never been all that vocal in how his family treats her, but I know that it’s not as great as it should be. I guess that’s how in-laws are though.

So, the bf family is still awkward, but we did okay and we saw both Twilight and Quantum of Solace. There’s a whole other plot line, but I must admit that the thought of the Bond series ending did come to my mind. It was so good to see my bf. It was nice after 3 weeks, that we’re now feeling like we’re almost going to be seeing each other too much, I’ll be back there in 2 weeks, and then he’ll be back here for 2 weeks for Christmas.

This time of year is so boisterous and scary and busy. I hope everyone else is just as busy as me!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “The Holiday Weekend Revisited ~ The Art of the LDR Continued”

  1. geekhiker Says:

    Sorry to hear about the highs and lows that come from seeing, and then not seeing, the bf. I wish I had some advice on how to deal with it, but I’m afraid I don’t. I guess the best you can do is try to distract yourself as best as possible when you’re not with him. And look forward to Christmas, of course!

    But Happy Belated Thanksgiving anyway! 🙂

  2. Typ0 Says:

    Happy belated Turkey day. 🙂

    I wish i had some words of wisdom about dealing with the whole LDR. In many ways echo and i had it easy – we had never lived near enough eachother to be a normal couple. We were always apart. Try to keep a positive spin on it and keep communicating with him. Xmas will be here before you know it! 🙂

  3. pandemonic Says:

    Hey, I have recently returned from the NaNo experience, so I haven’t read you much. I’ve also experienced a long distance relationship, and while it’s not easy, it can be done. Look at me! Mr. D and I have been married for 22 years! But I totally relate to your depression after visiting your family.

  4. Typ0 Says:

    Hey, tried to email you but am not sure i had the right email. 😦 Sorry!

Leave a Reply

