Do You Speak Prada? Confessions of a Shopaholic Movie Review

My name is Melinda, and I’m well, I’m…a shopaholic.

Yes folks, when I went to New York, people want to see the sites: Ground Zero, Radio City, Rockefeller Plaza…me…I wanted to see Baby Phat, Betsey Johnson, Ralph Lauren, and Calvin Klein. While others go to Paris to see the Orsay, I went to Paris to see the Champs Elysees. I didn’t care that the Louvre was closed I saw Saint Honoré. So, when Confessions of a Shopaholic was coming out in the theaters, I was first in line.

Now wait, I know what you’re thinking: It’s not out till Friday, what’s going on? I stopped into my favorite boutique here in Baltimore, the Funky Beehive and low and behold they were giving away passes to a sneak preview and had 15% off EVERYTHING in the store! Score! So off we went last night to see it a couple days early to boot!

I remember my first realization I was a shopaholic. As I was watching Rebecca go through the motions of being the daughter of a thrift store lover, I must admit that it brought me back to the day of being in Crate and Barrel with my sister. I had fluffed off home furnishing for close to 24 years, and now I had been faced by the cutest dang on dishes that had ever graced the shelves in 30 states. Not unlike Rebecca with her “magic cards” it was a must have purchase. It didn’t matter whether I had the money or not. I knew enough to know that they would cancel the pattern and needed to strike while the iron was hot.

I can feel for Rebecca, sometimes your eyes just glaze over, and you shop. She shopped herself to a $9,000 credit card bill. In a fit of tequila flavored frenzy, her and her best pal Suze, decide that they are going to send the albeit attractive editor of Successful Saving a $20 to get new clothes, and the editor of Allete Magazine a sample of her writing because Rebecca is destined to write for the elite fashion magazine. Well, one thing leads to another and Successful Saving is where Rebecca ends up.

As she progresses through her writing for the magazine under a pseudonym, the magazine flourishes. Her debt collectors don’t quite disappear into the dust though. As her shopping addiction increases, so do the phone calls finally leading to a climax. That’s about all I can give you from here. Based on the best selling books, Confessions of a Shopaholic and Shopaholic Takes Manhattan this movie stars: Isla Fisher as Rebecca Bloomwood, Hugh Dancy as the attractive editor Luke Brandon, and Krysten Ritter as Suze.

There are some very successful cameo appearances including Joan Cusack as Rebecca’s mom, and John Goodman as Rebecca’s dad. John Lithgow shows up as the owner of Dante West, and Lynn Redgrave even shows her face in a comedic performance that I haven’t seen in a while from her. This movie is light hearted, funny, endearing, and speaks Prada, Versace, and Gucci. For the Shopaholic readers, I must admit there are huge parts of the book that are missing, but will leave it up to you to go see it.

I firmly rate this: Full ticket price.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Do You Speak Prada? Confessions of a Shopaholic Movie Review”

  1. Typ0 Says:

    Nothing to do with this movie, but apropro since its also a book. I finally read all the Twilight books. I am in a shame spiral because i’ve already reread one.

    Does that make me a twilighter?

Leave a Reply

