My Thing About Shoes…

So, as I was telling Jackie the other day not only do I have a thing about shoes but it’s like well, a long story.

See, I’ve been on crutches now for close to 17 years. 17 years! There are kids here at this University that are that old! But, ever since then, my collection of shoes has a right foot graveyard, and my collection of left foot shoes. I continue to say shoes too…that’s the thing and like get offended when people say “oh I like your shoe”. Well, I like your shoe too, but I haven’t decided if I like the right or the left, so hey.

Which leads me to my original point. The trendy stylish shoes. For a while there it was Uggs. Ugg boots retail around $200. US of course. Now I recognize that there are importing costs, etc. etc. But believe me, this gal ain’t buying anything that costs $200 to put on one foot. That’s just too much for one foot.

This is my thing. I have probably two pairs of expensive shoes. My birks which I bought circa 1994 have yet to have recorked and still adore to this day, my tevas, got a discount, my chucks? $20 a piece baby. For both shoes even. I have quite a collection of chucks going given my shoe houndiness. I guess that’s the scientist in me, I can’t pass up a good deal. Even my boring work business related shoes are cuter than anything and were about $20 a pair. I’ve never gotten the whole shoe thing. Sure, those stilletos are cute but once you stand in them for longer than like 20 minutes your feet hurt.

There’s no point in that ladies, I don’t care how good they make your legs look.

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “My Thing About Shoes…”

  1. Jackie Says:

    I have a pair of Converse that I bought when I was pregnant with Alyx, back in 1991. They’re getting really ugly, but I can’t bear to replace them.

  2. Typ0 Says:

    Echobelly still has his original Air Jordans. And when i say original i mean from the first year they were released. He says he plays basketball better when he wears them. LOL

  3. cripkitty Says:

    Jackie ~ I’ve got about 6 pairs in a variety of colors, styles, and ripped nature. I go to the beach just to go to the outlet once a year.

    Typ0: He sounds like my bf. Hehehehe, he plays basketball better in them. Word on the street is that you guys have been loads of help to a gf of mine for which I’m ever grateful.

  4. pandemonic Says:

    Oh, I love shoes! I collect them. If you’re ever up this way, M, I’ll share my collection. 🙂

  5. Jhon Says:

    I bookmarked your blog, thanks for sharing this very interesting post

  6. Carol Says:

    OK, I will now stop complaining about being on crutches for 12 weeks…

    Carol

Leave a Reply

