Bueller? Bueller? Rest In Peace John Hughes

After reading We’ll Know When We Get There this morning my heart and eyeballs filled with tears again with the loss of John Hughes yesterday.

Now, I know that my blog isn’t followed extensively, part of which I’m fairly grateful for. No one understands sometimes that a part of the reason why science is so exciting is that it’s such a good thing to hide behind. The knowledge of chemistry, physics, and biology is something that such a select few have that it’s one of those things that if you don’t want to tell people something…just tell them what you do.

The movies that John Hughes made are the type that you will sit and watch whether it’s 3am or 11 in the morning. Some Kind of Wonderful, Pretty in Pink, Ferris Bueller, Weird Science, Sixteen Candles, The Breakfast Club, Mr. Mom, She’s Having a Baby, I could go on and on. Those places, the feelings, the actions, it made you almost want to move to Chicago because at least it wouldn’t suck as bad as your home life did. He was the first of a long line of writers and producers that instead of curtailing the line between adults and teens and instead…merging it.

They keep saying in the news reports that he spoke for the “generation of teen angst” in a way that no one else ever did. I have always considered that I act younger than I am. I’ll admit that, it’s a factor of me being in school in my early 30’s, being sick so often throughout my childhood and teen years, and being sick again in college. However, with that being said, it’s interesting how so often my counterparts often miss the true meaning of what it was like to grow up in the late 80s and early 90s. They don’t know what it was like watching Voltron till you were in your teens and having it adulterated into the craptastic Power Rangers. Not even my fiancee who is 4 years my junior quite gets it.

My heart sunk and ached and still does for the loss of a brilliant writer, director, actor and producer. More than it ever did for Paul Newman, because it wasn’t like he was so detached. You felt like you were a part of John Hughes life. His family, his ideas, his home.

He will be terribly missed, by the people that knew him, loved him, and cherished his work.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Bueller? Bueller? Rest In Peace John Hughes”

  1. geekhiker Says:

    I just wished my detentions had been as much of a learning experience. And as much fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

